Compare · head to head
VS

Tesla Optimus Gen 2 (V2/V2.5) vs XPeng IRON (next-gen)

Data confidence: medium / medium · reviewed by Andrei Sheshenin · how we score

Tesla Optimus Gen 2 (V2/V2.5) ranks higher overall (45 vs 28, a 17-point gap). Tesla Optimus Gen 2 (V2/V2.5) is ahead in manipulation, autonomy, deployment; they score the same in locomotion, hands. Tesla Optimus Gen 2 (V2/V2.5) is cheaper: about $25,000 vs $150,000.

#16
45score
Tesla Optimus Gen 2 (V2/V2.5)Tesla
Tesla Optimus Gen 2 (V2/V2.5)
Tesla · USA · Walks on legs
Height173 cm
Weight57 kg
Joints28
Lifts20 kg
Speed?
Battery?
Price$25k reported
Prototype
VS
#51
28score
XPeng IRON (next-gen)XPeng
XPeng IRON (next-gen)
XPeng · China · Walks on legs
Height178 cm
Weight70 kg
Joints82
Lifts?
Speed?
Battery?
Price$150k estimate
Prototype
Tesla Optimus Gen 2 (V2/V2.5)XPeng IRON (next-gen)
Body
173 cm
Height
178 cm
57 kg
Weight
70 kg
LegsMoves onLegs
28
Joints (degrees of freedom)
82
Tesla-designed rotary and linear actuators with integrated electronicsActuatorshumanoid spine, bionic muscles, flexible skin
Hands and lifting
11
Joints per hand
22
5
Fingers
5
20 kg
Carries (both arms)
?
Battery
Not disclosedChargingall-solid-state battery
Brain and senses
in-house end-to-end neural networks (FSD stack)AI modelVLT + VLA + VLM
Tesla FSD computerOnboard computer3x XPENG Turing AI chips
vision cameras; foot force/torque; fingertip tactile sensorsSensorsFull-coverage soft skin with tactile sensors
Not disclosedSoftware / SDKSDK for third-party developers
Buying it
$25k reportedPrice$150k estimate
Musk target price 20,000-30,000 USD at scale; no official price, not on salePrice detailshumanoid.guide early estimate ~USD 150k, not official; no disclosed price or paid order
Internal Tesla use only; not for saleAvailabilitynot on sale; production line announced
PrototypeStatusPrototype
Tesla (internal)CustomersXPeng stores and campuses (first); Baosteel inspection partner
battery cell sorting at Tesla factory; demosUsed forretail guide and sales assistant, reception, industrial inspection
What it has shown (our assessment)
Handles stairs and uneven groundLocomotionHandles stairs and uneven ground
Two-handed work in real settingsManipulationScripted pick-and-place
Hand with 6-11 jointsHandsHand with 6-11 joints
Learned AI policies in demosAutonomyLimited autonomy in demos
Sold to labs, a few unitsDeploymentPrototype only

Watch them

Optimus - Gen 2 | Tesla · Tesla on YouTube
XPENG | Why is IRON so human-like? · XPENG on YouTube

What each has shown

Tesla Optimus Gen 2 (V2/V2.5): sorting battery cells at a factory, everyday tasks in video, walking on uneven ground

XPeng IRON (next-gen): humanoid gait on the podium, exit from the assembly line

FAQ

Which ranks higher, Tesla Optimus Gen 2 (V2/V2.5) or XPeng IRON (next-gen)?

Tesla Optimus Gen 2 (V2/V2.5) ranks higher overall (45 vs 28, a 17-point gap).

Can you buy Tesla Optimus Gen 2 (V2/V2.5) or XPeng IRON (next-gen)?

Tesla Optimus Gen 2 (V2/V2.5): prototype. XPeng IRON (next-gen): prototype.

Which costs less, Tesla Optimus Gen 2 (V2/V2.5) or XPeng IRON (next-gen)?

Tesla Optimus Gen 2 (V2/V2.5) about $25,000; XPeng IRON (next-gen) about $150,000.

Swap in another robot →