Compare · head to head
VS

Tesla Optimus Gen 2 (V2/V2.5) vs Unitree G1

Data confidence: medium / high · reviewed by Andrei Sheshenin · how we score

Unitree G1 ranks higher overall (55 vs 45, a 10-point gap). Tesla Optimus Gen 2 (V2/V2.5) is ahead in manipulation, autonomy; Unitree G1 is ahead in locomotion, deployment; they score the same in hands. Unitree G1 is cheaper: about $13,944 vs $25,000.

#16
45score
Tesla Optimus Gen 2 (V2/V2.5)Tesla
Tesla Optimus Gen 2 (V2/V2.5)
Tesla · USA · Walks on legs
Height173 cm
Weight57 kg
Joints28
Lifts20 kg
Speed?
Battery?
Price$25k reported
Prototype
VS
#7
55score
Unitree G1Unitree
Unitree G1
Unitree · China · Walks on legs
Height132 cm
Weight35 kg
Joints23
Lifts2 kg
Speed?
Battery2 h
Price$14k reported
On sale
Tesla Optimus Gen 2 (V2/V2.5)Unitree G1
Body
173 cm
Height
132 cm
57 kg
Weight
35 kg
LegsMoves onLegs
28
Joints (degrees of freedom)
23
Tesla-designed rotary and linear actuators with integrated electronicsActuatorsLow-inertia PMSM joint motors, up to 120 Nm (EDU)
Hands and lifting
11
Joints per hand
7
5
Fingers
3
20 kg
Carries (both arms)
2 kg
?
Lifts per arm
2 kg
Battery
?
Runtime per charge
2 h
Not disclosedChargingQuick-release 13S 9000mAh smart battery
Brain and senses
in-house end-to-end neural networks (FSD stack)AI modelUnifoLM, RL locomotion policies
Tesla FSD computerOnboard computer8-core CPU; optional NVIDIA Jetson Orin (EDU)
vision cameras; foot force/torque; fingertip tactile sensorsSensorsDepth camera, 3D LiDAR, 4-mic array
Not disclosedSoftware / SDKUnitree SDK2, ROS 2 (EDU)
Buying it
$25k reportedPrice$14k reported
Musk target price 20,000-30,000 USD at scale; no official price, not on salePrice detailsChina list 99,000 RMB at launch, later cut to 85,000 RMB; US site 13,500 USD excl. tax; EDU via sales, resellers up to 43,900 USD. Rental ~2,000-2,500 RMB/day (2026). Hand DoF and payload 3 kg refer to EDU.
Internal Tesla use only; not for saleAvailabilityCommercial, in stock
PrototypeStatusOn sale
Not disclosedUnits shipped~5500 Unitree humanoids, mostly G1 (2025)
Tesla (internal)CustomersUniversities, research labs, event rental firms
battery cell sorting at Tesla factory; demosUsed forResearch, education, entertainment and events
What it has shown (our assessment)
Handles stairs and uneven groundLocomotionAcrobatics and parkour
Two-handed work in real settingsManipulationScripted pick-and-place
Hand with 6-11 jointsHandsHand with 6-11 joints
Learned AI policies in demosAutonomyLimited autonomy in demos
Sold to labs, a few unitsDeployment1,000+ robots shipped

Watch them

Optimus - Gen 2 | Tesla · Tesla on YouTube
Unitree Introducing | Unitree G1 Humanoid Agent | AI Avatar | Price from $16K · Unitree Robotics on YouTube

What each has shown

Tesla Optimus Gen 2 (V2/V2.5): sorting battery cells at a factory, everyday tasks in video, walking on uneven ground

Unitree G1: Kung Fu at the Spring Gala, somersaults, running, jumping over obstacles

FAQ

Which ranks higher, Tesla Optimus Gen 2 (V2/V2.5) or Unitree G1?

Unitree G1 ranks higher overall (55 vs 45, a 10-point gap).

Can you buy Tesla Optimus Gen 2 (V2/V2.5) or Unitree G1?

Tesla Optimus Gen 2 (V2/V2.5): prototype. Unitree G1: on sale.

Which costs less, Tesla Optimus Gen 2 (V2/V2.5) or Unitree G1?

Tesla Optimus Gen 2 (V2/V2.5) about $25,000; Unitree G1 about $13,944.

Swap in another robot →