Compare · head to head
VS

Agility Digit (4th generation) vs RobotEra STAR1

Data confidence: high / medium · reviewed by Andrei Sheshenin · how we score

Agility Digit (4th generation) ranks higher overall (49 vs 46, a 3-point gap). Agility Digit (4th generation) is ahead in manipulation, autonomy, deployment; RobotEra STAR1 is ahead in locomotion, hands. Only RobotEra STAR1 has a public price (about $170,000).

#12
49score
Agility Digit (4th generation)Agility
Agility Digit (4th generation)
Agility · USA · Walks on legs
Height175 cm
Weight65 kg
Joints?
Lifts16 kg
Speed6.5 km/h
Battery4 h
PriceLease only no sale price
On sale
VS
#13
46score
RobotEra STAR1RobotEra
RobotEra STAR1
RobotEra · China · Walks on legs
Height171 cm
Weight63 kg
Joints55
Lifts?
Speed13 km/h
Battery?
Price$170k reported
Research
Agility Digit (4th generation)RobotEra STAR1
Body
175 cm
Height
171 cm
65 kg
Weight
63 kg
LegsMoves onLegs
?
Joints (degrees of freedom)
55
electric rotary, custom transmissions; interchangeable grippers (no hands)ActuatorsSelf-developed joints, up to 400 Nm, 25 rad/s
Movement
5.4 km/h
Walking speed
?
6.5 km/h
Top speed
13 km/h
Hands and lifting
?
Joints per hand
12
?
Fingers
5
16 kg
Carries (both arms)
?
Battery
4 h
Runtime per charge
?
autonomous docking/charging via Agility Arc; run-to-charge ratio 2:1ChargingNot disclosed
Brain and senses
in-house (RL whole-body control)AI modelERA-42
LiDAR; 4 Intel RealSense depth cameras; IMUSensorsNot disclosed
Agility Arc cloud platformSoftware / SDKNot disclosed
Buying it
Lease only no sale pricePrice$170k reported
RaaS ~8,500 USD/month (~102,000/yr) plus 25,000 USD deployment fee; purchase option ~200,000 USD (per 2026 S-4; may describe Digit v5 pricing)Price detailsNo official price. 120,000 USD (humanoid.guide), 220,000 USD distributor backorder (roboticscenter). Runtime reported 2-4 h (conflicting).
RaaS deployments since 2024AvailabilityCommercial, research sales
On saleStatusResearch
GXO; Schaeffler; Toyota TMMC (7 units); Mercado LibreCustomersResearch organizations
warehouse tote handling; tote moving to conveyorsUsed forResearch, outdoor running demos
What it has shown (our assessment)
Handles stairs and uneven groundLocomotionRuns, recovers from pushes, gets up
Two-handed work in real settingsManipulationScripted pick-and-place
Simple gripperHands12+ joint hand with touch sensing
Works hours alone at customer sitesAutonomyLearned AI policies in demos
Paid pilots with customersDeploymentSold to labs, a few units

Watch them

Introducing Digit 5 · Agility on YouTube
Robot Era STAR1 debuts to support 2024 Xi'an Marathon · ROBOTERA on YouTube

What each has shown

Agility Digit (4th generation): moving tote containers in the GXO warehouse (>100,000 totes), working at 9 customer sites

RobotEra STAR1: running 3.6 m/s in the Gobi Desert

FAQ

Which ranks higher, Agility Digit (4th generation) or RobotEra STAR1?

Agility Digit (4th generation) ranks higher overall (49 vs 46, a 3-point gap).

Can you buy Agility Digit (4th generation) or RobotEra STAR1?

Agility Digit (4th generation): on sale. RobotEra STAR1: sold to researchers.

Which costs less, Agility Digit (4th generation) or RobotEra STAR1?

Agility Digit (4th generation): price not published; RobotEra STAR1 about $170,000.

Swap in another robot →