Compare · head to head
VS

Tesla Optimus Gen 2 (V2/V2.5) vs UBTECH Walker S2

Data confidence: medium / medium · reviewed by Andrei Sheshenin · how we score

UBTECH Walker S2 ranks higher overall (55 vs 45, a 10-point gap). UBTECH Walker S2 is ahead in deployment; they score the same in locomotion, manipulation, hands, autonomy. Tesla Optimus Gen 2 (V2/V2.5) is cheaper: about $25,000 vs $84,507.

#16
45score
Tesla Optimus Gen 2 (V2/V2.5)Tesla
Tesla Optimus Gen 2 (V2/V2.5)
Tesla · USA · Walks on legs
Height173 cm
Weight57 kg
Joints28
Lifts20 kg
Speed?
Battery?
Price$25k reported
Prototype
VS
#6
55score
UBTECH Walker S2UBTECH
UBTECH Walker S2
UBTECH · China · Walks on legs
Height176 cm
Weight70 kg
Joints52
Lifts15 kg
Speed7.2 km/h
Battery2 h
Price$85k-$99k reported
On sale
Tesla Optimus Gen 2 (V2/V2.5)UBTECH Walker S2
Body
173 cm
Height
176 cm
57 kg
Weight
70 kg
LegsMoves onLegs
28
Joints (degrees of freedom)
52
Tesla-designed rotary and linear actuators with integrated electronicsActuatorsSelf-developed joints; waist +90/-35 deg pitch, +/-162 deg rotation
Movement
?
Top speed
7.2 km/h
Hands and lifting
11
Joints per hand
11
5
Fingers
5
20 kg
Carries (both arms)
15 kg
Battery
?
Runtime per charge
2 h
Not disclosedChargingAutonomous hot battery swapping, 24/7 operation
Brain and senses
in-house end-to-end neural networks (FSD stack)AI modelBrainNet 2.0 with Co-Agent
Tesla FSD computerOnboard computerNot disclosed
vision cameras; foot force/torque; fingertip tactile sensorsSensorsBinocular stereo vision
Buying it
$25k reportedPrice$85k-$99k reported
Musk target price 20,000-30,000 USD at scale; no official price, not on salePrice detailsMedia report 600,000-700,000 RMB per unit. RobotShop special order 246,600 USD. 2025 revenue/units implies ~761,000 RMB average. Runtime ~2 h walking per one source.
Internal Tesla use only; not for saleAvailabilityMass production and delivery since 11.2025
PrototypeStatusOn sale
Not disclosedUnits shipped~1079 Walker S series (2025)
Tesla (internal)CustomersBYD, Geely, FAW-VW, Dongfeng, Foxconn, Airbus, data collection centers (Jiujiang, Guangxi)
battery cell sorting at Tesla factory; demosUsed forAutomotive and electronics factory logistics, sorting, quality inspection, training data collection
What it has shown (our assessment)
Handles stairs and uneven groundLocomotionHandles stairs and uneven ground
Two-handed work in real settingsManipulationTwo-handed work in real settings
Hand with 6-11 jointsHandsHand with 6-11 joints
Learned AI policies in demosAutonomyLearned AI policies in demos
Sold to labs, a few unitsDeployment100+ robots at customers

Watch them

Optimus - Gen 2 | Tesla · Tesla on YouTube
Walker S2 - The World's First Humanoid Robot Capable of Autonomous Battery Swapping · UBTECH Robotics on YouTube

What each has shown

Tesla Optimus Gen 2 (V2/V2.5): sorting battery cells at a factory, everyday tasks in video, walking on uneven ground

UBTECH Walker S2: Autonomous battery replacement in 3 minutes, carrying boxes in automotive factories

FAQ

Which ranks higher, Tesla Optimus Gen 2 (V2/V2.5) or UBTECH Walker S2?

UBTECH Walker S2 ranks higher overall (55 vs 45, a 10-point gap).

Can you buy Tesla Optimus Gen 2 (V2/V2.5) or UBTECH Walker S2?

Tesla Optimus Gen 2 (V2/V2.5): prototype. UBTECH Walker S2: on sale.

Which costs less, Tesla Optimus Gen 2 (V2/V2.5) or UBTECH Walker S2?

Tesla Optimus Gen 2 (V2/V2.5) about $25,000; UBTECH Walker S2 about $84,507.

Swap in another robot →