Compare · head to head
VS

Galbot S1 vs Tesla Optimus Gen 2 (V2/V2.5)

Data confidence: medium / medium · reviewed by Andrei Sheshenin · how we score

Galbot S1 ranks higher overall (49 vs 45, a 4-point gap). Galbot S1 is ahead in autonomy, deployment; Tesla Optimus Gen 2 (V2/V2.5) is ahead in hands; they score the same in locomotion, manipulation. Tesla Optimus Gen 2 (V2/V2.5) is cheaper: about $25,000 vs $300,000.

#11
49score
Galbot S1Galbot
Galbot S1
Galbot · China · On wheels
Height179 cm
Weight320 kg
Joints?
Lifts50 kg
Speed5.4 km/h
Battery8 h
Price$300k reported
Pilots
VS
#16
45score
Tesla Optimus Gen 2 (V2/V2.5)Tesla
Tesla Optimus Gen 2 (V2/V2.5)
Tesla · USA · Walks on legs
Height173 cm
Weight57 kg
Joints28
Lifts20 kg
Speed?
Battery?
Price$25k reported
Prototype
Galbot S1Tesla Optimus Gen 2 (V2/V2.5)
Body
179 cm
Height
173 cm
320 kg
Weight
57 kg
WheelsMoves onLegs
?
Joints (degrees of freedom)
28
Not disclosedActuatorsTesla-designed rotary and linear actuators with integrated electronics
Movement
5.4 km/h
Top speed
?
Hands and lifting
?
Joints per hand
11
?
Fingers
5
50 kg
Carries (both arms)
20 kg
15 kg
Lifts per arm
?
Battery
2.9 kWh
Battery capacity
?
8 h
Runtime per charge
?
2x 48V 30Ah hot-swap batteries; 2h chargeChargingNot disclosed
Brain and senses
AstraBrainAI modelin-house end-to-end neural networks (FSD stack)
NVIDIA AGX Orin 64GB, 275 TOPSOnboard computerTesla FSD computer
Head stereo + 3D LiDAR; chest 2 depth cameras, 2 six-axis F/T; chassis 2 3D LiDARsSensorsvision cameras; foot force/torque; fingertip tactile sensors
Buying it
$300k reportedPrice$25k reported
Only price found: 300,000 USD reseller listing (aifitlab, backorder). Reseller lists 48V 30Ah x2 battery (kWh derived), 15 kg per arm vs 50 kg dual-arm per press.Price detailsMusk target price 20,000-30,000 USD at scale; no official price, not on sale
Deployed at CATL since 2026AvailabilityInternal Tesla use only; not for sale
PilotsStatusPrototype
CATLCustomersTesla (internal)
Heavy-duty material handling in battery factoriesUsed forbattery cell sorting at Tesla factory; demos
What it has shown (our assessment)
Handles stairs and uneven groundLocomotionHandles stairs and uneven ground
Two-handed work in real settingsManipulationTwo-handed work in real settings
Simple gripperHandsHand with 6-11 joints
Works hours alone at customer sitesAutonomyLearned AI policies in demos
Paid pilots with customersDeploymentSold to labs, a few units

Watch them

Galbot S1: Heavy-Duty Robot · Galbot on YouTube
Optimus - Gen 2 | Tesla · Tesla on YouTube

What each has shown

Galbot S1: work on the CATL line >3 months, carrying battery modules, self-replacement of battery

Tesla Optimus Gen 2 (V2/V2.5): sorting battery cells at a factory, everyday tasks in video, walking on uneven ground

FAQ

Which ranks higher, Galbot S1 or Tesla Optimus Gen 2 (V2/V2.5)?

Galbot S1 ranks higher overall (49 vs 45, a 4-point gap).

Can you buy Galbot S1 or Tesla Optimus Gen 2 (V2/V2.5)?

Galbot S1: in customer pilots. Tesla Optimus Gen 2 (V2/V2.5): prototype.

Which costs less, Galbot S1 or Tesla Optimus Gen 2 (V2/V2.5)?

Galbot S1 about $300,000; Tesla Optimus Gen 2 (V2/V2.5) about $25,000.

Swap in another robot →